My 15th Anniversary of Teaching Life

believe

This month marks my 15th year of teaching tai chi & qi gong, both are slow dances combined with soft breathing. I first started tai chi by accident. I was on a waiting list to join a private class and one of my friends who had my house keys was at class. I had to sneak up to the yard because I did not want to disturb the class and also not look like a stalker.

My friend and I caught each others eye and he quickly throw me my keys over the fence. As I was walking away the teacher came out and asked what I was doing there. After explaining, he offered for me to try class. That was the start of my destiny as I know it today. GOD, my angels, however it works, they lead me to that moment in time for which forever changed my life as I know it and I hold constant gratitude and appreciation in my heart and prayers for it.

I was so excited to be doing this since the back ground was martial arts and I have studied many systems. This particular style had self defense aspects but also a focus on breath and meditation in motion. I feel in love with how I felt and soon started volunteering my time teaching others. I knew the changes I felt by simply taking 10 minutes a day and focusing on myself and my breath while practicing a dance. I never stopped volunteering my time and teaching since. I was given opportunities to help and I accepted with an open heart. I volunteered teaching everyone from children with HIV to juvenile delinquents who had to come to school in handcuffs. I also had the honor to teach adults with HIV and the homeless amongst many other different classifications of society. Still continuing my path, I now have the honor to work with the military and others who look to make a difference in this world. I have seen so many miracles during these times simply with breath and movement.

There are two things that I am confident about in my life, my heart and my movements. While at the beach today doing the movements, I reflected on the last 15 years and what it has done for me physically and spiritually. It takes me just over an hour to do the movements from start to finish, so I had many memories of who I was and who I am today. I started as a boy from the projects and grew into a soulful man trying to help the world, one breath at a time. I had to walk each step with faith.

Physically, the daily practice of meditation in motion has kept me clear and focused. It has allowed me not only to get rid of stress but to have the strength to prevent it. These simple movements have given my body the oxygen it needs in order to heal at an optimum state of being. By controlling my breath, I control my body in which I control my mind. When we control our body we get in touch with every part of our being. I have found myself through my breath. I have found a tool to keep my health at its peak without ever loosing the most important thing we take for granted, our breath. I always have peace and relaxation in my body.

Spiritually, I have come to feel GOD and my angels which is the core of us all. These movements do not follow religious beliefs or any man made path. Instead it allowed me, someone who was soul searching, to open up and look within myself. It allowed me to find my own way to our higher power, the way that fits me the best. Once I open up my soul and eyes to see, it allowed me to see thousands of miracles since, literally. It allowed me to find that peaceful, happy, serene, loving side of myself and to keep me in that energy and state of mind at all times.

I had many teachers in my life since then and have many now. My family are my teachers. My best friend is my teacher. My soulmate is my teacher. The homeless guy at the corner is my teacher. No human has ever perfected life. A teacher should always have teachers otherwise they are not learning but only dictating what they know so far and knowledge in unlimited.

Everything in life is connected and when you connect yourself, you find your true self and destiny. The last few years was the most intense training for my soul and life as I know it. When you are a child, you do not have many choices. As an adult, you have every choice. The last few years opened so many doors that enabled me to grow into a man. In one of the worst cross roads of life so far, I found the biggest gift, life. By helping others, it allowed me to record the gifts of breath. This is when I recorded 5 documentaries concerning Cancer, Parkinson’s Disease, Stroke, etc. From that experience, I created 2 tai chi systems just focusing on health and a foundation to help spread that insight. These are the miracles and experiences that turned me into a man, a teacher and one day a loving father and husband. It was doing the right things in life without negativity for me to see the true blessing surrounding me. Any soul learning the movements from me call me by my name and not a title. We are all the same and no man is higher then another. Some just make different choices in life.

I owe everything to GOD and to the angels he sent to help me along my journey. The best insight that I found during the last 15 years is that I am just starting. My path has just begun. My training for life so far has given me the tools to stand as a loving child of GOD and to have the knowledge to help anyone in any health condition. I was given the tool to make a difference and I will teach others to carry and share these tools. The insights were not given to any man to hold for himself but to share with the world.

At the end of every exhale is the start of life, a new beginning. A new breath to fulfill your destined path. Find yourself. Find your breath. Find your destiny. ~David Chi

Breathe.Believe.Achieve.™

angelpicangelpic4williamelizabeth walkcancer paintingmac and diana11005053_10152902479745591_2094524351_n

faith4cropped-dsc005811.jpg

Logo for healing tai chi system

Leave a Reply

